The Lay Magistrates Training Committee

The Lay Magistrates Training Committee is a sub committee of the Judicial Studies Board. It comprises of a District Judge (MC), Lay Magistrate representatives from each County Court Division, and is headed by the chair of the Lay Magistrates Association.

The remit of the Committee is: -

  • To plan and approve an annual programme of training for Lay Magistrates.
  • To evaluate all training for Lay Magistrates and recommend improvements where required.
  • To occasionally attend external training events and provide written reports.
  • To monitor induction training for newly appointed Lay Magistrates as and when the need arises.
  • To liaise with and represent the needs of local divisions.

Lay Magistrates’ Training Committee members

  • Deirdre Kennedy (Chair)
  • Stephen Callan  (Antrim)
  • Alan McCormick  (Ards)
  • Mairead Conlon  (Armagh & South Down)
  • George Munro  (Belfast)
  • Kevin Donaghy  (Belfast)
  • Owen Gawith  (Craigavon)
  • Delia Devlin  (Fermanagh & Tyrone)
  • Paul McMinn  (Londonderry)
  • David Moore  (Presiding LM)
  • District Judge (Magistrates' Court) McCourt
  • Denise Bloomer, Secretary
  • Cheryl Dunlop, Assistant Secretary